FROM THE PRIME MINISTER

Every time I visit Christchurch there is something new to see, as the city continues to make good progress with the rebuild, nearly four years after the February 2011 earthquake. This hectic rebuilding is only going to ramp up over the next few years. The commitment of Cantabrians means more jobs and businesses will breathe life into the central city, and fuel strong economic growth in the region.

The Christchurch Earthquake Appeal has made a significant contribution to the rebuild, particularly to community infrastructure.

The Kaiapoi Aquatic Centre, the Court Theatre, Rapaki Marae and the Redcliffs Library are just a few of the local buildings and venues which have benefitted from the Appeal – and the public's generosity. That's not to mention the vast array of cultural, faith-based, sporting and educational projects the Appeal has funded to enrich and comfort Cantabrians as they persevere and rebuild. Their unwavering commitment to their region speaks to the strength of Christchurch and the wider Canterbury community. Nearly four years on, Canterbury is going from strength to strength, and will continue to do so.

I would like to thank the Trustees of the Appeal, and the members of the Advisory Board, for their pride and hard work in supporting Cantabrians as they rebuild and renew their city. I firmly believe that the new Christchurch won't just be as good as it was before, but better. Families, businesses, community leaders, and local and regional councils have all pulled together to build a modern city that will stand proud and deliver for its people.

Thanks to the generosity of New Zealanders, and from people around the world, the Christchurch Earthquake Appeal has been part of that, and I would like to offer my gratitude to all those who have donated.

The commitment my government gave to Christchurch on day one remains unwavering. We will continue to stand beside the people of Christchurch and Canterbury.

Thank you.

Rt Hon John Key Prime Minister of New Zealand



Above: Prime Minister Rt Hon John Key at the opening of Hagley Pavilion in September 2014.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

Trustees would like to thank the following individuals and organisations for outstanding support and assistance since 2011:

- Christchurch Earthquake Appeal Trust Advisory Board, and Chair Jane Huria >
- > Office of the Prime Minister
- > The Department of Internal Affairs
- > Inland Revenue Department for administering the donation rebate scheme
- The Press >
- > KPMG
- > Bell Gully
- > Westpac
- Christchurch Earthquake Appeal Trust Secretariat Paul Swallow (Trust Secretary), Vanessa Lowe, Lucy Moore, Marnie Woodd, Paul Houliston, Keryn Martin, Katherine Bell, Angela Wadsworth, Bridget Latter, Tuia Hill, Eileen Hennessey, Anthea Moreham, Catherine Barnes, Adrienne Darrah, Gerard Egerton, Rahul Govindan and Leandro Cavalcanti.

Canterbury external advisers who have provided advice on funding needs and helped assess prospective projects for funding, from the following:

>	The Sports Leadership Group - in	>	The Department of Internal	>	Child, Youth and Families
	particular Sport Canterbury and Sport NZ		Affairs	>	Creative New Zealand
>	Christchurch City Council	>	Ministry for Culture and Heritage	>	Funding Leaders Across
		>	Ministry of Social Development		Government group
>	Canterbury Earthquake Recovery Authority	>	Ministry of Youth Development		

In particular, we thank these individuals for their help in 2013/14:

>	Adela Kardos	› Denise Kidd	 Jane Fraser-Jones 	› Lynnette Ebborn	 Pauline Saunders
>	Ainsley McLeod	 Don Miskell 	> Jim Palmer	 Mary Richardson 	> Peter Richardson
>	Amanda South	 Edwin McLean 	> John Filsell	> Matthew	 Philip Clark
>	Amy Wooding	 Evan Smith and 	 John Harrington 	Hawkins	 Richard Lindsay
>	Annette Culpan	the Avon-Otakaro Network	› Jonny Kirkpatrick	 Matthew Pratt 	 Sean McKenna
>	Bede Martin	 Fleur Baker 	› Julia Main	 Michelle Mitchell 	 Simon Markham
>	Brent Thawley	 Gary Watson 	› Julyan Falloon	 Michael Aitken 	 Shaynie Jones
>	Carolyn	 Gary Watson Geoff Barry 	› Ken Pope	 Mike Barnes 	 Steven Gray
	Gallagher	 Graeme Edwards 	 Kerry Beaumont 	 Mike Dodge 	> Vaughan
>	Craig Sargison		 Kevin Bennett 	 Nick Markwell 	Utteridge
>	Charles Ngaki	 James Gaskell 	 Kirsty Way 	 Niki Hudson 	 Vivien Meek
>	Chris Rennie	 Jamie Cairns 	Lincoln Danali'i	> Neil Cox	 Warwick Isaacs

- Chrissie Williams
- Jane Bryden
- Lincoln Papali'i
- Neil Cox
- Olivia Dovey
- Warwick Isaacs